A NSW Government website

Celebrating NSW's top scientists and engineers

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Premier’s Prizes for Science and Engineering, which recognise and reward the state’s best and brightest researchers for their contribution to science.

Premier Dominic Perrottet said the awards celebrate the state’s leading scientists and shine a light on their life-changing work.

“NSW is home to world-leading scientific researchers who are undertaking cutting-edge work that has generated economic, environmental, health, social and technological benefits to our State,” Mr Perrottet said.

“These awards celebrate their achievements and provide an opportunity for the NSW Government to recognise their dedication to their field of expertise.”

The top award is the NSW Scientist of the Year, presented to an outstanding individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of science or engineering. The winner of the top gong receives $60,000.

Other categories, of which winners receive $5,000, include:

  • Excellence in Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry or Physics
  • Excellence in Biological Sciences
  • Excellence in Medical Biological Sciences
  • Excellence in Engineering or Information and Communications Technology
  • NSW Early Career Researcher of the Year (Biological Sciences)
  • NSW Early Career Researcher of the Year (Physical Sciences)
  • Leadership in Innovation in NSW
  • Innovation in NSW Public Sector Science and Engineering, and
  • Innovation in Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics Teaching.

Minister for Science, Innovation and Technology Alister Henskens said the awards raise community awareness and appreciation of the important contribution scientists, engineers and teachers make to our daily lives.

“Since 2008, these awards have celebrated NSW-based scientists and engineers who have changed the world we live in through their groundbreaking research,” Mr Henskens.

“These awards demonstrate the NSW Government’s strong commitment to supporting science, innovation and technology and recognise the enormous contribution by those who make up NSW’s globally competitive innovation ecosystem.”

 Professor Jim Patrick AO was awarded the 2021 NSW Scientist of the Year for his pioneering work on the cochlear implant.

“It was a great honour to be named NSW Scientist of the Year at last year’s Premier’s Prizes for Science & Engineering. It was also wonderful recognition of the progress made by Cochlear since its establishment in 1981,” Professor Patrick said.

“We shared a common objective: to give or restore hearing. I trust that this year’s prizes will celebrate further groundbreaking work which delivers important outcomes to NSW,” said Professor Patrick.

For more information and to nominate, visit the website.